The Unexplained Absence

I’ve been gone, if you’re a regular reader then you would have noticed, if you’re not then you might have asked yourself What the F*** is this travel blog without any new writing? Who does this person think she is calling herself a travel blogger?! Well! People of the blog, I have an excuse, a very slightly almost valid excuse as to why I’ve fallen off of the grid.

The view that kept me away from the computer

The view that kept me away from the computer

Let me tell you a story about the events which lead to my disappearance, I spent time back on my favourite island in the world, Koh Tao, where life got swept up with friends, days out, beach bumming, parties, heck, I was even dating someone. I spent my time on the island writing for my freelance publications and keeping on top of work that I had to do, other than that my days got swept away in a sea of absolute bliss. I left Koh Tao reluctantly, back to Bangkok where I partied with a group of young travellers to say goodbye to my favourite country; my last few days were spent getting as many massages and curries in as possible before my move to Australia, otherwise known as the most expensive country in the Southern Hemisphere.

Days on the beach with sunset drinks

Days on the beach with sunset drinks

I moved to Australia about six weeks ago, I don’t even know where the time’s gone. But I stayed in a hostel where the wifi was really bad; only a certain limit was allowed per day and that limit was spent looking for jobs, can anyone say door to door sales?! I’ve spent the past six weeks really enjoying myself, I’ve met up with two long lost travelling friends from years ago, I went down The Great Ocean Road, I’ve beach bummed, I’ve explored Melbourne, I’ve been to festivals, threw tomatoes with thousands of people, I’ve made new friends and I’ve drunk a lot of coffee. I’ve become incredibly poor, now I only have a few dollars left to my name. BUT, I have a new job which is something I’m excited about and I have a great apartment with three friends for the next three months situated near the beach and, most importantly I’m happy, really uncontrollably happy.


I’m going to be concentrating on pulling my travel blogging and writing back up to standard, I have so many stories to share from Thailand and experiences from my first month living in Australia, from working for nothing to finding my feet in a city where there seems to be more backpackers than Australians.

2 thoughts on “The Unexplained Absence

  1. Justine of The Travel Lush says:

    Exciting! I can’t wait to hear more about your experience. I’m sure the last couple months have been a whirlwind. And congrats on landing a job! Out of curiosity did you find it hard to get one there? Do you have to have a work permit to work in Australia? Because who knows…maybe I’ll move to Australia after I leave Indonesia!

    • hanwanderlust says:

      The past few months have been insane! I don’t think my feet have really touched the floor recently. You have to have a working holiday visa and be under 31 when you apply but it’s really easy to get; only took half a day to come through. I found it quite easy to get a job, but I wasn’t picky about what I done; so I’ve ended up in sales. My friends have found jobs within a month, which isn’t bad. The only problem is that it’s so expensive before you’re working, it killed me after coming from Asia. You should come here though, it’s amazing here! I can’t wait to get out there and see what more it’s got to offer.

Leave a Reply

