2014 – You fabulous beast

This year has been a little crazy, I started off my 2014 by climbing 52m up the O2 arena in London with my family, a feat which to me was something absolutely and utterly terrifying. I guess I should have known that doing things out of my comfort zone would be the tone of my year.

 

In April I visited New York for an evening where I was looked after by this amazing Taxi driver (Francois) who made sure I was okay, he drove me around (at a flat rate) for sightseeing, when I decided to get out to explore on foot he even came back to get me a few hours later to make sure I didn’t miss my flight.

 

From New York I flew to Nicaragua to meet my friend, Lauren to backpack down through Central America, we explored Granada, headed to Ometepe on the most laid back boat journey I’ve ever experienced. We climbed a volcano through the thick jungle with Maggie and our amazing guide who looked after me, even though I was being a right diva, climbing, I’m sure you all know is my greatest fear. But we made it! The memory of the volcano will stay with me all of my life, especially hearing the sounds of the Howler monkeys echoing through the thick jungle, that was something amazing. We then headed to San Juan Del Sur where we stayed in the most amazing hostel that I have ever known, we quickly made friends with a group of people that I still hold in the highest regard, we played, we partied, we lazed, we spent a week here instead of our planned three days. We then bused down to Costa Rica with, Marjan a friend from San Juan Del Sur where we spent a night in jail (okay, not jail, but the worst hostel I’ve ever seen, same same), we bid goodbye to Marjan as Lauren and I headed out to the Caribbean coast of Puerto Viejo where we played on beaches and ate amazing food. From there we went to the idyllic paradise of Bocas Del Toro in Panama, we stayed on the waters edge, getting boats around the archapello, exploring remote tropical islands surrounded by the most amazing turquoise water. We then headed down to Panama City where we explored our final few days in the most beautiful city, I fell in love with the old city, it is here we brought hats and slept in luxury.

June brought a family trip to The Alps in France to celebrate my beautiful nan’s 90th birthday. I loved this trip, we explored the mountains, played at altitude and best of all time was spent with my family, we’re dotted all around the world so the moments that we’re all together it’s absolutely amazing. This is the trip where I ate so much cheese I developed an allergy against it, was it worth it? Oh yeeeah!

July, Lauren and I went to Amsterdam to visit Marjan and Patrick, two friends that we met in Nicaragua. This brief trip was enough to allow me to fall in love with the city, Marjan and I headed out to go dancing resulting in a lost night, who knows what happened?! It was a lot of fun though.

August I bought a one way plane ticket to Bangkok in January and another one way plane ticket to Melbourne for February. From this my time was mostly spent at home trying to save to go on my grand adventure with an open end.

I spent my time being good and not going on any mini-trips during this time, until December swung round, and with it my birthday. I couldn’t resist a trip to Amsterdam with my friends and brother, a day was spent in the beautiful freezing city, it was amazing, although I came back suffering with Pneumonia which has left me in bed for the past month, I’m only now just about recovered. Which is good, because I’m leaving England next week to go back to my beautiful Thailand, Cambodia and then Australia for who knows how long.

This year I’ve done things that I never thought I would do, I’ve met more amazing people than you could imagine, I’ve seen some of the most amazing sights (the harvest moon rising behind a volcano being one of them), I’ve kayaked shark infested lakes, I’ve slept in the clouds, I’ve spent afternoons on remote tropical islands, I’ve danced in the Caribbean under the influence of rum and amazing music. I’ve started this little blog, which has been voted one of the top 50 in the UK by World First Travel Insurance, soon this blog will be with me every step of my future trips and I honestly hope you will be with me reading it. I’ve loved every second of this year; I’m coming out of 2014 knowing that sometimes it’s good to do what scares you, it pays to push yourself a bit further and a bit harder, 2015 is going to be something quite spectacular, whatever you’re going to do with your new year I wish you all the very best for the New Year, may it bring you happiness and adventure.

The Breakdown:

Countries: Six

Flights : Ten

Boats: Six

Long bus journeys: Five

Babies Born: One (lovely, lovely Maisie)

6 thoughts on “2014 – You fabulous beast

    • hanwanderlust says:

      I know I can’t believe it, I leave in 10 days. My bag’s already packed and ready to go 😉 I hope that yourself and Aaron had a brilliant start to the New Year, I’m looking forward to reading about your up and coming adventures.

  1. Anna Lou says:

    It looks like you’ve had an incredible year and that 2015 will be nothing short of spectacular as well 🙂 I’m looking forward to following your adventures!

  2. izy berry says:

    I love your photos!!! It sounds like 2014 was a great year for you, I can’t wait to see what 2015 holds (even though we’re already 1/4 of the way through. How did that happen?)

Leave a Reply

