Six (very valid) reasons why I’m moving to Australia

As you know, I’ve recently quit my job to move to Australia and to dedicate my time to living in Melbourne and travelling round as much as I can; this has been a dream of mine for the past ten years; I’m beyond ecstatic to finally be doing it. I’ve noticed though, when I tell my friends or family that I’m moving almost 10,000 miles away I get asked the same question, Why are you moving? It’s a fair enough question, I would ask it as well if someone let me know that they were spinning half way around the globe. There are six main reasons for my move and why it’s happening now, why I’ve decided that I cannot wait any longer, why I absolutely must get to Australia in 2015. I’ve got just over six weeks left in England before I head back to Thailand and then finally to Australia, this has been a long, long time coming; I’m more than ready now to see what the next adventure will bring.

So, you wonderful, curious readers, the reasons for my big move South are as follows:

 

Found on Pinterest

Found on Pinterest

Age

You have to be under 31 when you first enter Australia on a Working Holiday Visa for a year (which is what I have); I’m going to be twenty-eight when I first land in Australia so my time to go over to Aus easily to work was quickly running out. I knew that it was now or never, I had to take the plunge and see what happens, especially if I want to extend my visa.

Money

Not for the money in Australia, I’m driven by adventure and experience rather than cash rewards (although, don’t get me wrong, that is nice), but the job I’m in at the moment doesn’t pay enough for me to move out of my parents house in either London or Essex and still continue a life where I can still go away and live a life that I’m happy with. I’d need to change jobs for that to happen, so I figured, if I’ve got to change jobs then I’ll take this opportunity to explore another part of the world.

Adventure

I’m a sucker for a new adventure, what is more exciting than moving to a new country?! A whole new country to explore, new people to meet, new experiences to be had. The promise of new adventure is what drives me to do new things; previously this has included: climbing volcanoes, paragliding over the Alps and White Water Rafting, now my need for adventure has given me the urge to move my life to the Southern Hemisphere for a while. Being based in Australia will hopefully allow me to explore parts of the world which are much less accessible to me in England, cheaper flights to Asia and New Zealand means that I should technically be able to explore with ease; this really excites me.

Lifestyle

It’s no secret that Australian’s have the work-life balance down, the nice climate generally means that you can enjoy your time outside in the open more than you can do in England. Everyone I’ve spoken  to has said about how people head outside as often as they can for runs along the beach, surfing, Stand Up Paddle Boarding, hiking, swimming, anything to be outside and to be active. Now that sounds a hell of a lot better than coming to work, sitting on a train for an hour then going to a gym for a few hours in the dark.

Found on Pinterest (Originally Cuba Gallery on Flickr)

Found on Pinterest (Originally Cuba Gallery on Flickr)

Experience

I am a firm believer in that you should experience as much as you can out of life, you learn, grow and evolve from the things that you experience, both the good and the bad. I don’t think there’s a better way to gain life-experience other than travel, to see other cultures, to meet new people, to see new sights, to see the good and the bad of the world. I believe that’s how I grow; I hope to nurture my curiosity and to open up my life to experience all that I can with an open heart and an open mind; I know that in the past my travels have helped me become the person I am today, I sincerely hope, my future travels and experiences will help me evolve further.

Found on Pinterest (Originally Cuba Gallery on Flickr)

Found on Pinterest (Originally Cuba Gallery on Flickr)

Why Not

Basically, dear readers, why not? I can’t think of a valid reason to not give myself the chance to move to Australia, to explore the Southern Hemisphere. It’s something I have always wanted to do; it’s something that I’m now lucky enough to be in the position to follow. I’m massively excited about what’s to come, I can’t wait to get to Australia, I definitely can’t wait to get to Melbourne, to see my friend, Andy and to start a new exciting chapter. I’m going to embrace every single second of what’s to come, I don’t know what’s going to happen, but I know it’s right, it’s all going to be alright.


 

Have you moved your life away from your home town or country? What reasons did you have for leaving your normal life to start somewhere new? I’d love to know, drop me a comment below. You can also find me over at Twitter and Instagram where I frolic daily.

6 thoughts on “Six (very valid) reasons why I’m moving to Australia

      • theelliottquest says:

        Recruitment agencies are your friends! It’s easier to find that kind of work after you arrive. It’s not hard at all. Gumtree.com.au has ads posted all the time. Or, simply google it or ask around at a hostel. I’ll be posting a full article of advice soon!

  1. Packing my Suitcase says:

    What an amazing decision!! You’ve done it right, why wait? Why not go? I wish you best of luck and hope you enjoy a lot your time in Australia… Im sure you experience amazing adventures there! Good luck with everything 😉

Leave a Reply

