Stepping into the Void

Deep in the Alps, 3482m up, a glass box hangs from the side of Aiguille De Midi in the Mont-blanc mountain range in the Alps; this glass receptacle is the very first of its kind at Altitude, with the ominous name of ‘Step into the Void’  it has quickly become the second biggest attraction in France after the Eiffel Tower.

Step into the Void

Step into the Void

When I first heard of this, I couldn’t resist giving it a go whilst I was playing in the mountains this summer, Of course, I had to take my family with me, it would be rude not to. So in June, myself, my mum, my dad, my brother, my uncle, my cousin, Nandan, little Poppy and my 90 year old nan went gallivanting up 3482m up a mountain, all in the name of fun, spectacular views and for most people a once in the lifetime experience. The assent up to the Void is completed by the use of Ski Lifts, you leave the warm valley floor as a ski lift takes you up to your first plateau (Plain Aigguille de Midi) where you’re surrounded by mountains, from here Paragliders leap from the mountain face to float over the Alps, the fresh mountain air is slightly thinner than before, but the views are so spectacular you don’t notice. My family and I looked around us with astonishment, it was stunning, and then we noticed, we still had to go up, towards the summit.

 

Flying high

Flying high

Our gaze turned upwards where another ski lift hung in the air climbing vertically over snow covered rocks, the sky was seemingly clear as we headed towards our final ascent up the steep mountain face. Once we arrived upon the final plateau the air was freezing cold, considerably thinner than before with gusts of winds that cut through to your bones. We stood to take in the views and take obligatory photos, however before we knew it, the wind picked up, with it clouds came over us and snow started to fall around us. We hurried inside a sheltered area from the cold which was prickling at our fingers; we were ready to move upwards, finally to the glass box, in doing so you have to queue and get an elevator up to the very submit of the mountain.

 

Adam and Poppy at Altitude

Adam and Poppy at Altitude

Yet, fate and the mountain had other plans, the storm closed in around the top of the mountain, the winds were too high to allow anyone up to Step into the Void, we were advised to wait, for how long? No-one knew. We waited for over an hour before we realised that the storm might not be ending any time soon, we had to pull in the family and head back down; being up high was affecting a few of us all very slightly, surprisingly not my amazing nan who at 90 took her go at Mountaineering with grace.

Although, we didn’t manage to get to Step into the Void this time, the morning was still absolutely spectacular. We wondered around the top of the mountain taking in views, the panoramic was out of this world, the mountains jutting out around us, cloud below us, snow covered peaks, it was like being in a dream world, being on Aiguille Du Midi is the closest you can get to the summit of Mont-Blanc without putting your crampons on and climbing, the views are spectacular.

Climbing high

Climbing high

 

Touching Heaven

Touching Heaven

Am I sad that I didn’t get to Step into the Void? Yes, of course. But do I regret going up there? Not a chance! It was so unbelievably beautiful. Especially for a person like myself and the few members of my family who aren’t mountaineers we would never ever of had the chance to be that high, to see the world from above. I would recommend it to anyone to go up there, to see if for yourself, and if you’re lucky, you will get to Step into the Void. For me, I’ll be back another time to see the world fall below me; it’s a chance I would never want to miss.

10394040_764609256932086_6224196463668635251_n

Although we didn’t get to Step into the Void we still enjoyed our time on the mountain, I headed down to the first plateau where I explored some of the footpaths surrounding the mountain below, this area is great for hiking and exploring, it is also considerably less busy than being upon the summit. Whilst I was exploring the foothills of Aiguille Du Midi my family were enjoying lunch at a restaurant upon the summit, their reviews of the food there? Over priced and really not enjoyable, if you wish for a nice lunch please head down into the town and the surrounding areas where you have more choice.

 

Foothills of the mountain

Foothills of the mountain

Playing explorer

Playing explorer

Practical information:

Step into the Void is a high altitude experience, however, anyone over the age of three can enjoy it, my group ranged from the ages of four to ninety, and we all enjoyed the experience. The ski lifts are a bit squashed but they ascend and descend quickly across the mountain, please note that although the weather might be nice and warm upon the Valley floor it will be freezing up top, please wrap up accordingly.

Step into the Void is open all year, unless the weather dictates otherwise, but honestly, give it a go, see if the mountain is on your side and enjoy experiencing the world from above. The cost of your ticket is €55,00 (€45,00 for Children), this covers the cost of the cable car, entry into Step into the Void and various other Cable Cars and train journeys through this section of the mountains. To get the most out of your money I advise you go to Step into the Void early then spend the afternoon exploring the mountains surrounding the area all covered by the cost.

 

You can touch the clouds

You can touch the clouds

My ticket to Step into the Void was part funded by Compagnie Du Mont Blanc, however, you will always receive my honest review no matter who is footing the bill. Thank you for showing me a wonderful day, I can’t wait to return with the hopes to stepping into the wonderful glass chamber which hangs over the mountain tops.

 ________________________________________

Would you Step into the Void? I’d love to hear from you!

If you enjoyed this post then please feel free to comment below, you can also join in the fun on Instagram and twitter.

2 thoughts on “Stepping into the Void

Leave a Reply

