Liebster Award – Round Two

Hooray!

Hooray!

 

I’m only just coming into my second month of having my little travel blog and nominated for a Liebster Award for the second time, really?! This blog? Awesome! This time I have been nominated the award by the ever lovely, Justine over at Travel Lush. Thank you so much, I am really honoured to have been mentioned again.

In the Liebster tradition of ‘Meet and Greet’ Fellow travel bloggers I have been given a few questions about myself to answer, the following have been put to me by Justine.

So, hello I, I’m Hannah, this is my travel blog, hanwanderlust, this is me:

Playing in Amsterdam

Playing in Amsterdam

The following are my answers to Justine’s questions:

How and when did you catch the travel bug?

I’ve had the travel bug ever since I was old enough to realise that there was a world outside of England. Most specifically, I was about ten(ish) when my cousin, Luke returned from a trip to Thailand and showed me photos of far off lands, statues of Buddha and beaches; I was mesmerised. Ever since then I was filled with wanderlust, I’d dream of travel and exploration; it’s been a long time coming but I finally feel like I’m answering my calling.

Edge of the Thai Gulf

Edge of the Thai Gulf

Complete the sentence: I could not travel without… (something other than your passport).

Pashmina Scarf, I use it for a blanket, a beach towel, a normal towel, a curtain for when in hostels, shawl, scarf, head scarf. Back home in London I wear it as a normal scarf, it serves as a nice reminder of my travels. Today, I’m wearing my red Thai silk pashmina… fancy.

Also, Antihistamines, I am ridiculously allergic to bites, I swell up at the sight of an English gnat, so I take all antihistamines with me to reduce the swelling that I get, especially around my eyes, rendering me a version of ‘The Elephant Han’.

What is the last book you read?

The body swap – or something along those lines.

What is your biggest travel mishap?

Over packing, constantly. I end up hating my backpack or bag by the end of the first day, but I am always convinced that I need all of my clothes.

What’s your favorite food you’ve tried while traveling?

Oh, sweet Buddha, so much. I’ve written a whole post on my favourite food around the world, aptly named “Top 10 Foodie Feasts”

If you could spend the next year in one place, where would it be?

If money were no option? I think it would have to be Thailand, it’s no secret that I love it there. It’s my soul home, it’s where I’ve always wanted to go, it’s where I fell in love with the world, it’s where I found my feet. If I had to spend one year stationary in one place, that would be it.

Koh Tao - Where I left my heart

Koh Tao – Where I left my heart

What is the number one item on your bucket list?

The Inca Trail, Peru. This has been top of my bucket list since I first heard about it; I’ve always decided to do it on the year I’m 30, only a few years to go.

What is the first thing you do when you get to a new country? (I usually just start walking, find a nice spot for a beer and people watch)

I always throw my bag down and go explore my new area, I like to get a feel of where I am, what’s good to see, what’s good to eat and where’s good for a beer. I settle down outside, if it’s warm and have a drink and soak in the atmosphere.

What is your favorite travel memory?

So many! One of them would have to be climbing a volcano in Nicaragua, deep through the jungle, swinging from vine to vine, howler monkeys creating haunting sounds above us, the thick undergrowth rustling below us. It was pure adventure, utterly, completely, amazing.

Basically Indiana Jones

Basically Indiana Jones

What is one thing you want to do while traveling that you haven’t done yet?

Absolutely everything, even if I have done it, I want to do it again. I want to see the sunrise over Angkor Wat, I want to see the sunrise over Machu Picchu, I want to see the sunrise from the top of Kilimanjaro…. I seem to want to see the sunrise from a lot of places. I like sunrises, I like the thought of brand new sparkling days, welcomed by the warm sun.

If you had all the money in the world, what would your dream vacation be?

Unlimited travel, worldwide, fo’life.

 

Thank you again Justine for mentioning me over here, I really do appreciate it; I’ll be sharing the love very soon once I have enough time to settle myself down to write about some of the amazing blogs I read and the outstanding writers behind them. Travel writing and the community surround it is something rather wonderful, unbelievably grateful to be a little part of it.

2 thoughts on “Liebster Award – Round Two

Leave a Reply

